not much longer..

Only 47 days until I board a plane bound for Rome, Italy!

What a treat this is, and trust me I know how lucky I am. Claire and I began talking about traveling abroad this summer last August, simply hoping our parents would go for it. (We’re very persuasive). And here we are!

There’s absolutely so much to do, but even more so because Claire and I both obsessively create lists of things to do and things to remember. How fortunate that the list for preparing to spend six weeks of your life in a foreign country is seemingly never ending. The fun part, I believe, will be packing. According to our pre-departure orientation on Wednesday night, it’s best to take 1 dress, 1 sweater, 1 pair of jeans and 2 shirts. HA HA HA, what a joke! I’m going to do my best to be as minimalist as possible, but let’s face it: I’m officially the world’s worst packer.

On another note, I speak absolutely no Italian. In fact, I’m just now googling Italy and purchasing books on Amazon (sorry Dad!) that I think will help me prepare for….what, exactly? Well, for a lifestyle completely unlike the one I am used to leading. Italy is a country of leisure, where people genuinely take time to enjoy life. In the city we’re living, every thing shuts down from 1 to 3 p.m. for lunch and a nap. Unheard of in the land of the American dream, right? I’m nervous, but my sister’s dance teacher said nervous was a negative word for something so great, so instead I’m EXCITED (right Natalie?).

As for now, I should probably focus on ending this semester’s classes the best I know how…and the sooner, the better. We’re getting there!

Xo,

Chelsie

“any minute now my ship is coming in
I’ll keep checking the horizon
And I’ll stand on the bow
And feel the waves come crashing
Come crashing down, down, down on me

And you said,”Be still, my love
Open up your heart
Let the light shine in”
Don’t you understand?
I already have a plan
I’m waiting for my real life to begin..”
-Colin Hay, “Waiting for My Real Life to Begin”

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “not much longer..

  1. Gina

    Absolutely making me sad and excited for you!
    You are a terrrific writer- keep jotting down your thoughts and it might just end up a BOOK!
    🙂 Love you and miss you already.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

