the favorite month is gone

My favorite month, since 8th grade, has been October.

October has always represented a strange parallel to hope. I know that generally, the season for hope and growth tends to be December with Christmas and New Year’s Eve, but for me — October has always held a handful of changes that both astonish and bewilder me. Some negative things, some positive things but all teaching things.

October is my teacher.

This month, October has taught me peace and grace. October tore people from my life, stripped my confidence and saw me at my lowest low. But October brought me back to Jesus, hand-delievered me into THE giver of grace. October saw me regain strength, find new passions, uncover better friendships and relationships and most importantly: October gave me back myself.

I extended forgiveness, I walked in grace (literally, when I am outdoors on a beautiful Autumn evening, I feel like I am standing with and moving through the personification of grace), I prayed, I exercised, I turned my attention to friends who needed to uncover grace as well, I tried new things (pumpkin seeds, Thunder games), and I discovered a way to live within myself.

There is still chaos in some areas of my life, there is still uncertainty and a lack of trust, there is still doubt and there is still work to be done on my relationship with God and with myself. I am moving to a place of better balance.

November, what do you have for me? Let’s do this.

“My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

I’d like to direct any reads and give a big thank you to Emily at Chatting at the Sky, http://www.chattingatthesky.com/category/31-days-of-grace/, for her 31 days of Grace posts during the month of October. Her words were literally a God-send and another teacher from October. Thank you Emily!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “the favorite month is gone

  1. So thankful to call you friend, though we have been out of touch for a while. You were and are an excellent writer and the most captivating part is how you are raw and honestly you. Thanks for sharing about October. O and emily, at catting at the sky – amazing. I too have been following her, and the other 31 day girls. Keep writing, can’t wait to read more.

    Grace.

  2. I like this and I like you. Thanks for being my person. And thanks for talking to me freshman year at rush and giving me your number on pref night. Thanks for going to Thunder games with me and carving pumkins and getting locked out of jack in the box. Thanks for pretending to care about a lot of things in life with me. Thanks for sitting through a billion journalism classes. Thanks for sending me cool text messages that just say hi.

    You rule.

  3. What a beautiful post, Chelsie! Thank you for directing me to it. I love what you say about October, about how walking through her days are like walking through grace, about how it is full of hope and possibility. You put words together just right, and you’re so young!

    Thank you for your kind words about 31 Days 🙂

Leave a Reply

