picture this: Sunday

My best friend Audrey came to visit me this weekend, as Tech was playing here in Norman.
I am from Lubbock, and I am the traitor who attended a big 12 school outside of Lubbock county. But my people love me regardless, and this particular person has loved me for almost 11 years unfailingly.

(November 2006)

ELEVEN YEARS. We met in 5th grade and shared our lives and a lot of laughs through the rough years of junior high and the better years of high school. When I moved up here in the fall of 2007, I was filled with anxiety. My best friend and I were starting college 5 hours apart. The good news is, we are closer than ever.

Our relationship has stayed unfailingly steady and filled with love the entire time. And picture this: this weekend, she and I spent time in my town together as if nothing has changed since we were 10 years old and giggling while watching 10 Things I Hate About You on VHS.

Things will definitely change for both of us in the next year. I graduate in May and she graduates in August. Neither of us know where we’ll end up or in what job we’ll find happiness. But what we do know is that 11 years of best friendship is only the beginning. And if all else in our lives fails, I can call her with a movie quote and she can come right back with another quote.

Picture this: finding a true, good, beautiful friend and never allowing time or distance to change the loyalty and love that began as 10 year olds.

“I thank my God everytime I remember you.” Phillippians 1:3

: )

I’ve heard it said
That people come into our lives for a reason
Bringing something we must learn
And we are led
To those who help us most to grow
If we let them
And we help them in return
Well, I don’t know if I believe that’s true
But I know I’m who I am today
Because I knew you…


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

