day ten: when you don’t know why you’re waiting

Waiting on some things makes sense. It also tends to help if there’s a deadline – like, waiting for a baby. You will likely be antsy for those nine months, but you know eventually your waiting will end. I think most of the pain in waiting is when you are waiting for “something” to change. Or when you’re waiting for your life that you’ve imagined. Or, when you don’t know what the deal is but you wake up a little cranky and off-center and are waiting for something to turn your day around.

Most of our pain in this life is self-inflicted and I know this is a hot opinion to throw down. I’m aware there are plenty of circumstances that are beyond your control, and these do cause pain. I also think that the day-to-day suffering or crankiness or struggles come from our own brains, waiting for “something” to “be better.”

 I think it takes patience with yourself to identify the areas that could improve, but it takes more patience to understand that you have to rely on Jesus to help you through those issues.

I want so badly to be good, to be happy, to be content that I sabotage myself by jumping the gun. I imagine future circumstances, conversations, etc. and it’s an insult to our creator when we think it’s our job.

I feel like the best exhibition of patience is accepting every sunrise as an invitation to live the next 24 hours as big and best as you can. It doesn’t matter where you live or what your talents are or if your only plan for the day is to bake a loaf of bread – if you do that with gratitude in your heart, you’re living and breathing patience in the waiting.

Thinking about patience for 10 straight days has, ironically, found me at day ten with impatience in my heart. So today, I’m aligning my days of patience with a focus on gratitude. Rather than thinking of all the things that are in my brain, I’m thinking of all the blessings that are in my life. It’s a helpful exercise in happiness….write down three things you are thankful for, and you can’t help but feel a lift in spirits.

See you tomorrow,

XO –
CB

Not that I am speaking of being in need, because I have learned in whatever situation to be content. I know how to be brought low and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.
Philippians 4:10-13

Today is day ten of my 31 days of patience series. For all posts in the series,click here.

2 Comments

Filed under 31 Days

2 responses to “day ten: when you don’t know why you’re waiting

  1. Philippians 4:10-13 I so learned this on my journey to patience . What a hard eventful and gratify journey. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

