day seventeen: waiting on inspiration

Lately, I’ve been reading or hearing or been getting divinely interventioned on the importance of actually doing something about achieving your dreams.

One of my favorite people I’ve ever heard speak wrote a whole book about what Love Does. And he points out repeatedly no matter what the end action is, love does things. It doesn’t wistfully long for something, it doesn’t complain about circumstance, it doesn’t wait for something to come. (He also pointed out good writers don’t use the word “that”, so if you’ll notice the past few days I’ve CTRL+F before I post and remove all “that” words. Thanks, Bob!)

My point is your dreams are a lot like love, in the way of action. Because at the end of the day you have to love what you want enough to do something about it. But sometimes your own brain gets in your own way. Do you all notice a theme yet in these 31 days of patience? There’s a few items to note mainly don’t get in your own (or God’s) way and also chill out and ride the wave.

So – sometimes when you need to wait, when you rely on endurance and perseverance – it’s when you can’t find the words to say or the song to sing. I’m writing this tonight because I couldn’t think of what to write tonight. I’m sure plenty of artists out there struggle on days where it’s hard to find the words. Waiting on inspiration takes more patience than other circumstances, in my opinion. When you want so badly to do those things you’re called to do, you want to do it as soon as you can. Sometimes, it takes some dips in the road, though, to find inspiration to do it correctly.

So wait on inspiration. In the meantime, say some prayers of gratitude. No – they aren’t correlated, I’m just of the utmost belief gratitude cultivates happiness.

See you tomorrow.

XO,
CB

Today is day seventeen in my 31 days of patience series. For all posts in the series,click here.

Leave a comment

Filed under 31 Days

Leave a Reply

