day nineteen: our daily bread

When I was driving home from work today, I said a really good blog post on patience out loud to myself. But, I went to Pei Wei and had the most spicy dish of my life and since have completely forgotten what I remember to be a witty post.

Alas, backup plan. Let’s talk about food. Or, in a nice parody of a John Mayer classic, waiting on your waist to change. “Chelsie, what does food have to do with patience?” you may be thinking. Well, for starters you should wait 30 minutes before swimming if you’ve eaten. Secondly, you should not focus on food in your life and if you are trying to be healthy – you should NOT be ready to “drop 5 pounds in 7 days by drinking only water!!”

So twofold here: you shouldn’t focus on what you are going to eat or wear – at least according to the bible. And according to mothers everywhere. Secondly, if you are trying to improve your health you should remember to have patience with yourself and your body.

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? [Matthew 6:25]

I think we’ve gotten to a point in our lives where we both love to eat whatever we want and expect to be the size we want. My personal philosophy on health has changed since college. My desk job added a few pounds in the past year, and the combination of sitting all day and being tired at night forced me to really watch my food intake. Personally, I’ve learned a few things but I think the key takeaway is this: move. Eat whatever you want in moderation, and take advantage of the beautiful body you have!  Don’t worry about low-fat or no calories, eat the food you want to eat then go on a walk. Or Zumba class or boxing or jump on a trampoline. And DONT WORRY ABOUT IT. Worry adds stress which adds fat. Ha! Conundrum.

I know there are many people who are unhappy with what they see in the mirror. I have two messages for those people:

  • You are beautiful and I bet you’re the only person who would disagree.
  • If you don’t like what you see, change it – talking bad about yourself to yourself doesn’t change anything for the better. The difference between the person you are and the person you want to be is what you do about getting there.

We should be patient with ourselves, with this life. You should savor the days – savor the food, the drink, the company and the light of day. Time goes by anyway – you may as well enjoy your journey, body and soul. If you are trying to change your lifestyle, please do! I think it’s wonderful to eat well, bountiful meals filled with meats and cheeses. But don’t rush yourself to a particular number or a certain size. Please be happy with who you are because  you are fearfully and wonderfully made. I promise you are loved!

 

See you tomorrow.

XO,
CB

Today is day nineteen in my 31 days of patience series. For all posts in the series,click here.

Leave a comment

Filed under 31 Days

Leave a Reply

