June Things

Hello, happy almost July!

June was busy, fun and a change. I spent my first full month in my new apartment, attempted to eat mostly paleo and failed and took a few roadtrips to celebrate friends and family. Because this is my blog I obviously think any thoughts I have I need to share with you. Here are a few things I thought in June.

  • Summer means sprinkle ice cream cones every day. The first half of June I thought of sprinkles very often because we celebrated national donut day at work with Hypnotic Donuts, where naturally I had a  ‘homer’ (strawberry glaze, 1,000 sprinkles) and therefore craved sprinkles the remainder of the month. My only satisfaction came with this beauty.

sprinks

  • Someone leads you to believe, as a teenager, your acne will go away as you age. This is entirely false, 100 percent untrue. I have the worst face and I’m mid-20’s. True story I get carded at rated-R movies
  • The same person who lies to you about your teenage acne is the same person who lies to you about your teenage friends and how it’s a phase for people to hurt your feelings. Sometimes, no one grows up and you still do not get invited to Ashley’s slumber party when everyone else does and you are all twenty five so it shouldn’t matter but it does.
  • I discovered I pay (paid) nearly $140 a month for cable and internet. And then I thought, WAIT I AM POOR. So I remedied the situation by switching to AT&T, where surely my bill will always be incorrect and my costs will hike tremendously next June when my contract ends. Take that, cable bill.
  • On the same note, I lived in my apartment four weeks before watching Netflix which is a sentence meant to tell you I was incredibly busy in June and worked a lot.
  • Speaking of work, there have been a number of days in June where I feel schooled when I get home. I reflect on the day and realized I learned at least 347 new things, from different people. Sometimes I am in awe of the brain power surrounding me at this job. Then my brain turns to mush as I cook a quasi-paleo meal and perhaps drink wine. It’s all about balance.
  • There are many days where many things need to happen and there are some days you do not put on shoes and you spend time laying on the grass staring at clouds. Make sure you do both of those days regularly.
  • My schedule was pretty packed in June and remains this way through September. One weekend I drove out to the lakehouse to meet my family and it rained – and I took three naps in one day and did not wear pants (I mean, I had on a bathing suit) and ate a lot of queso. My dog barked at 1,000 duckies. My soul felt better. I thought how important margin is in your life in order for your soul to breathe.

Jackson Lake

  • I cannot stop scrolling through Rich Kids of Instagram. I want to interview these children and make a mashup of ridiculous thoughts they have in their tiny expensive brains.
  • Since I’m currently in my 20’s, it is fun for me to read about others in their twenties. Mostly when they mess up and find a way to figure out the humor in it all….which is why I love Paul and his new book “101 Secrets for Life in Your Twenties.” Even if you’re a bit past your 20’s, Paul was some wit and humor in there anyone could benefit from digesting. Need an example? Here is one of my favorite ‘secrets’: “Obsessive Comparison Disorder is the smallpox of our generation. Nine out of 10 doctors agree this disorder is the leading cause to eating two boxes of Girl Scout cookies while watching The Bachelor.” #guilty.

Liked my June things? Head over to Emily’s link-up and read a lot of lessons learned in June.

As for me, I’m going to Hawaii.

Talk soon,

XO
CB

7 Comments

Filed under updates

7 responses to “June Things

  1. I don’t think we ever get over the feeling of being left out or not fitting in, no matter how old we are and acne can be part of your life for decades, that is the honest truth, it depends on your season of life and stress factors. Enjoyed your list and meeting you here on the doormat of your blog.

    • Hi Shelly, thanks for stopping by! I think my face problems are a direct result of adding dairy back in my life….but, you saw how I feel about sprinkle ice cream cones. 🙂 Such a dilemma!

  2. Loved your list. Those rich kids on instagram have acne, too… Ha! The rain falls on everybody.
    I am stopping by from Emily’s, and now you have me missing my 20’s. (I still get acne in my 40’s…)

    Hope you have a fantastic weekend! 🙂

  3. First time reader but you hit a chord. I am 43 yrs old, and while the acne does get better (cutting out artificial sweeteners/drinking soda was the key for me), seeing pictures on FB of women having fun together or a “girls night out” just about kills me. every.time. Pretty sure that feeling of being “left out” never goes away. And I have had my feelings hurt more in the past 3 months from other supposed grown up women who are my age than I ever did when I was younger. Hang in there!

  4. I’m not a 20-something, but I enjoyed your list. And yes, you’re right, people will still be mean and hurtful sometimes even if they’re not in high school anymore. I guess those same high school kids didn’t change much as they got older.

  5. I can ditto the “attempting to eat mostly Paleo”… sigh…. popped over from Emily’s link-up!

Leave a Reply

