July things

1. I re-watched Pitch Perfect the first weekend of July and proceeded to listen to the soundtrack on Spotify for six days. I will not apologize and I will admit I now try to mash up songs while singing in my car. I’ll leave how fantastic I sound up to your imagination.

2. Did you know DJ & Kimmy are still best friends? You do now. You’re welcome.

3. A large chunk of time at my job is spent utilizing Google News and boolean operators to find coverage for clients. I love it – not because it’s highly interesting to do but because I get the opportunity to read comments on major (and minor) news stories. Here’s a newsflash: PEOPLE ARE CRAZY! I laugh aloud daily because of comments. Some favorites from July:

  • U.S. Citizen: No such thing as news media anymore, its a propaganda media doing the same type of reporting as they did for Hitler. And we all know how that turned out.
  • Nick Dasher: He sort of dies and then comes back. It’s complicated.
  • KarlaH: It sure would be nice if people were ….. RESPONSIBLE FOR THEMSELVES

4. Speaking of Google, if you searched for ‘millennials’ or ’20-somethings’, you would find so many theories and opinions on who we are as a decade, age group, generation. Most of it is probably true, or at least applicable to a majority. But something I want to shout at my friends is this: We don’t have to be stereotypical. We don’t have to be penniless in jobs we hate. We don’t have to be scared, powerless, in limbo.  We can change the story! You can be whoever or whatever you want to be. You aren’t trapped. Being 20-something doesn’t mean you’re 20-stuck. You don’t have to have the same quirks as college or high school you and 30 year old you doesn’t have to be the same as 24 year old you. Don’t trust me? Trust people I trust like Shana Niequist who says you can change your story or Paul Angone who can help you jump through a quarter-life crisis.

5. Q: What would you do if you won the lottery? Thanks for asking, I thought about it recently and here’s my plan: I would buy houses in a cul-de-sac and allow my friends and family to move into them for free. I would say “hello, how are you friend/sister/mom/dad/cousin with the cutest kid? Here’s what’s up. I have a couple million to blow and I’d like us all to live in the same neighborhood so we can have dinner parties and go to zumba and our kids can have sleepovers.” Also, I would go on a long vacation and buy insanely expensive knives for my kitchen. Pipedream.

6. Here is a thing I did in July:  I de-virginized my hair via highlights. I took approximately 14 selfies before I gave up and figured people could just see it in person, then I took this one to send to my mom and thought maybe I nailed the selfie game. Sidenote, if you have tips on actually looking normal in a selfie let me know – I prefer the eyes squeezed shut style. At any rate, I am beyond thrilled with my hair color and feel sunshine-y and fun. Also, if you want color in Dallas go see Frankie at Salon Pompeo, she is my new best friend.

selfie

6. Travel things I did in  July? See Justin Timberlake and JayZ at Soldier Field in Chicago. <- See how casually this sentence is written? In no way does it accurately describe HOW BEYOND AMAZING THE CONCERT WAS. Also, I went to Maui. If you have not been to Maui, GO NOW IMMEDIATELY. We had a fantastic family vacation filled with desserts, walks, hikes, rainbows, fruit and laughs.

jtjayz

hawaii

7. On this same note, I have a break up letter to write:

Dear Dallas,

I have grown to like you immensely in the two years we’ve shared. I appreciate your side streets to avoid traffic and your quick access to a myriad of grocery stores, Sonic and CVS. I like the city-wide appreciation for brunch and I’m OK with the weather. But, I’m having an affair with Chicago and there is no end in sight. We’re in love and I can’t stop. I love to walk, I love hearing people’s conversations, I love the train, I love the lake, I love the restaurants and I love Kate. I will be cheating on you as much as possible until further notice. Feel free to change our Facebook status to “In an open relationship.”

Love,
Chelsie

8. How to look like a million bucks when you’ve only spent $10. Hint: those symbols on the tags in your clothes actually stand for how to properly wash the thing.

9. I love all of my married friends and baby-parent friends. I love their weddings, because pretty things are fun to watch and also there is usually delightful food and free booze. Same for baby showers, here’s a onesie where is the punch? You know what we’re missing though? Showers for the singles, the puppy moms, the work-iversary. On this same note, NY Mag has really hit the nail on the head in a number of posts recently. Add it to your Feedly. (RIP reader)

10.  I’ve been a bit lackadaisical in July about food, writing, life, working out, cleaning (sorry, what, why I am confessing this…….) but August 1 is a new month, new day. I’m starting another Whole30 (sorry, what, why I am crazy……), joining a new gym, paying attention to things like sweeping, mopping, organizing my inbox. You know, life things. What motivates you more, a to-do list or just reminders electronically? I love to know peoples tips for not “forgetting” to dust regularly.

So, there’s July. All in all a month in which I traveled, laughed, cried (once, let’s not talk about it), saw new and old friends and relaxed. I am forever grateful to have time to travel and friends to see when I get there.

Like last month, if you’ d like to see what other awesome people learned in July, head to Emily’s link up. Happy August!

XO,

CB

16 Comments

Filed under updates

16 responses to “July things

  1. Oh. This is so great. I love Chicago. Just told John yesterday “Let’s move to Chicago.” We won’t, but it’s fun to talk about. Also I live on a cul-de-sac with family and it’s nice. It can also make you want to, you know, move to Chicago. But over all, I’m a fan.

  2. Your list is fantastic and fun. Love the hair.
    Stopping by from Emily’s.

  3. Love the highlights, your hair is so pretty! I just watched Pitch Perfect for the first time a couple of months ago and loved it so much I then made my husband watch it with me, too!

  4. Your hair looks great. Your list is a lot of fun.

  5. Your thoughts on Pitch Perfect remind me of my love for Glee. My favorite songs they do are Mash Ups! They are awesome! I’ve tried a few of my own (to entertain my kids, lol!), but I haven’t figured out the secret yet!

    Love this thought, “Being 20-something doesn’t mean you’re 20-stuck.” Yes, yes, yes!

    Have a great August!

  6. I feel like we just had a conversation and I love it. When I head your way, Jack and Tallulah will be best friends and we’ll throw Wine Wednesday Puppy Playdates Happy Single Dog-mom-ness nights. That’s a real thing now.

  7. I may be the last person in America not to have seen Pitch Perfect. I have been waiting for it to become a rental on iTunes but it has taken forever! I must find another way! And I love Chicago too! I actually live in a southwest suburb & try to sneak into the city whenever I can.

  8. Neely Dockins

    Wanna watch Pitch Perfect for a third time?? I need a fix!

Leave a Reply

