#31Days: Day Thirteen (or, the day of quiet)

Today, I did wake up at six even with four sleeping 18-year-old kittens in my apartment. I didn’t go anywhere, or even get out of my bed, but I did read a few more chapters of Anne Lamott (seriously, how often can I reference her in 31 days? I think I’m borderline stalker at this point).

This was a good weekend. I saw many friends I don’t usually see, I’m not heavily invested in football so while a bit disappointed in the game I didn’t lose my lunch over the situation, and I had the chance to see my sister and her sweet friends. When they left this afternoon, I just sat in my quiet home for a bit thinking of how great of a weekend I had and how thankful I am for old and new friends. Also, how grateful I was to sit in quiet and take a nap.

When I left church this morning, I debated what I would write about today. I have many things stirring in my heart and I know they’ll come out this week when I have these hours to myself every morning. I also am sorry I’ve been so late/bad at posting this weekend. I lost my motivation, I was distracted and let’s just be honest: the middle of something is really hard. Beginnings are fine, you’re excited and the end – duh – is good. But the 13th day of doing something? Boring. But this week is halfway and I am excited to finish out these days.

In the meantime, Huffington Post wrote a story on the importance of intentional mornings. I am going to pretend it is because they read my blog (it’s not) but you should read it anyway. Mainly for this quote: “If the first thing you do in the morning isn’t 100 percent for you, selfishly, then the rest of your day will be spent not doing anything for you.”

Xo,

Cb

This is the thirteenth post in a series, 31 Days of 6 a.m. To see a list of all posts from the month of October, click here. If you would like to have these posts delivered directly to you, enter your email address in the form located at the top right of the home page.

31daysbutton6am

Leave a comment

Filed under 31 Days

Leave a Reply

